Interview with an Erotic Writer: Sommer Marsden

Sommer Marsden

Sommer Marsden

Today, we interview the talented, unapologetic Sommer Marsden, whose erotic story, “Echo Chamber,” appears in Shameless Behavior: Brazen Stories of Overcoming Shame. Enjoy!

1. Sommer, you are renowned for your gorgeous, hot erotica. Why do you enjoy writing erotic stories?

Well, first of all, thank you. You are good for the ego! However, to be honest, I have no idea. I accidentally stumbled over an erotic story online one day. I read the story and was surprised at how well written it was and how much I enjoyed it. Then, of course, I wondered if I could write something like it. The attempt to write erotica, adding the sex to my work, was like putting a key in a lock that I didn’t even know existed. Adding the sex to the mix was the shift in my writing that took me from a “kinda writer” to a full-time writer. I have no idea why. It’s just how it happened for me. With sex in the equation, I’ve found I can write just about anything.

2. Who are some of your inspirations in the genre?

The first erotic book I bought was Alison Tyler‘s Exposed. I’ll shame myself (or, as the old saying goes, tell the truth and shame the devil) by admitting that, before I started writing erotica, I never really read it. I’m bit of a backwards tale in the world of writing. I didn’t start reading erotica until after I’d sold a few pieces. After I inhaled Exposed, I went and bought Hurts So Good (edited by Alison Tyler). In that volume, I discovered a lot of fabulous writers. There are so many writers who inspire me, but beyond AT, off the top of my head, I always make a beeline for stories written by Justine Elyot and Vida Bailey (who does not write a lot, but what she writes is worth the wait). Those are just a few!

3. Can you tell us a little about your story” Echo Chamber” in Shameless Behavior: Brazen Stories of Overcoming Shame?

I know some people have issues with ‘loud sex,’ and I imagined it would make it worse if you had one of those lovers who made you feel bad about it. I think we’ve all had a lover who’s made us feel bad about something. Lucky for her, my heroine meets up with a new lover who wants her to make a ruckus about it– if it feels good, let me know. And he decides that the acoustics in the bathroom might be exactly what she needs to really whoop it up. It was a fun story to write. Sometimes noisy is good. Really good.

4. Why do you think erotica can be so important for society?

To me, erotica is all about human connection. Understanding each other in the barest, most human way. And I think most of us could do with a little more human connection. Especially nowadays. So much of what we do is removed from the personal element. We “communicate” from behind keyboards so much now. My hope for most of my stories is that people will read them and be inspired to seek out that intimate, human connection. Nothing would make me happier than to think of my stories inspiring a supremely intimate moment…or three.

5. Can you let us know of any other books/stories that you have in the works at the moment? Any forthcoming publications? And how can we get hold of them?

Right now I’m working on two totally different things. I’m putting the final touches on the final book from my Divination Falls male/male shifter series. So, I have two very volatile, attractive shifter types having hot gay sex. And then, on the other hand, I am putting the finishing titles on a book for Ellora’s Cave that’s a fun, hot hetero tale of modern love–no title decided on yet. The Divination Falls book will be available from Xcite, probably late 2013, early 2014. The other title will be (fingers crossed) out with Ellora’s Cave in 2014. In December, I also have the U.S. release of Restless Spirit coming out with Sourcebooks Casablanca and a dystopian novel titled Hollow Men coming out with Resplendence Publishing. Very different kinds of novels, but both are very hot and loaded with that human connection I spoke of. I aim to please!

6. Do you have any advice about writing great sex scenes?

Keep it as honest as possible. Leave out all the acrobatics and focus on the intimacy. It can be sizzling or funny or even sad. Just focus a little less on the mechanics and a little more on the emotion, and you might be surprised at how scorching the final product is.

7. Anything else you’d love to let us know, such as your website, your social media handles?

Oh, that’s easy squeezy. My blog is called Unapologetic Fiction and can be found here http://sommermarsden.blogspot.com. I’m on Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, and Pinterest. My Amazon page is at amazon.com/author/sommermarsden. And that’s all of it! I think….

Out now! Click the pic for Amazon.

Out now! Click the pic for Amazon.

Sommer, you’re a star! Thanks for a fabulous interview. And folks, if you’d like to read Sommer’s “Echo Chamber” along with erotic stories from other super-talented authors, you can order Shameless Behavior: Brazen Stories of Overcoming Shame here:

Amazon

Barnes & Noble

GDP

Also, Con, Book 1: You Can Play It Safe When You’re Dead will soon be free no longer! Download this brazen story of twin con artists, for $0, while you still can….

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Interview with an Erotic Writer: Sommer Marsden

  1. Zoe More says:

    This interview is so inspiring! It hits me right in the soft of my gut where I feel exactly how the fab Ms. Marsden so eloquently put it; ” The attempt to write erotica, adding the sex to my work, was like putting a key in a lock that I didn’t even know existed.” Thank you, SM and GDP for such amazing, insightful posts! I’m so looking forward to all the new work from both of you! xxxZM

  2. Lana Fox says:

    Dear Zoe, thanks so much for your wonderful comment! So glad that you enjoyed Sommer’s fantastic interview as much as we did. You’re a super-talented writer yourself and we’re proud to have your gorgeous Hunger in Shameless Behavior. And of course, we’re always thrilled to receive your praise. xxxx

  3. Miz Angell says:

    Sommer, I love you, but you know that already. Lana, I’ve been inspired! Time to go write!!

    • Lana Fox says:

      Miz Angell, thank you! So glad that we — well, Sommer, frankly — inspired you to go write! Sommer is wonderful, it’s true. Off I go to check out your website now.

Leave a Reply

