I Chose to Be Gay When I Realized That All I Wanted to Do Was Touch Boobs

Actually, this is totally a lie. I knew I was gay even before I knew that there would be boobs to touch, so “chose” isn’t even close to being the right word. It’s funny and sad (but mostly sad) that people think that we, as members of the LGBTQ  community, actually do choose, like Milky Way versus Snickers–well, Tom likes nuts, so guess which one he’s taking home.

Nah. It’s not like that at all. And it’s great to see the people of Colorado Springs in this YouTube clip, appropriately titled, “When Did you Chose to Be Straight?” (courtesy of Travis Nuckolls and Chris Baker), stumble when the question is turned on them.

Thanks for supporting Go Deeper Press. If you’d like to browse our erotic, sex-positive e-books for brain and brawn, you can find our website here

1354743576_twitter_02

1354743587_facebook_02

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “I Chose to Be Gay When I Realized That All I Wanted to Do Was Touch Boobs

  1. Actually, if someone did choose to be gay, what on Earth would be wrong with that?

  2. angela says:

    Hey, Clare–thanks for commenting! And good point, too.

    What I have beef with, of course, is the assumption–no, the proclamation!–that I’m “choosing” to live my life in an anti-Christian, anti-family, anti-everything wholesome and pure and white-bread American, and thus I’m helping to deteriorate the morals of this country at a rapid pace. Oh, if only I hadn’t chosen to do so. And if I could just fix that, like, ASAP, everything will be much better.

    Oh, and then there’s this whole thing: http://www.nytimes.com/2013/04/18/us/day-in-court-for-california-law-banning-conversion-therapy.html?_r=0

    Yeah. That pisses me off.

    • But… if I could choose anything, that is EXACTLY what I’d choose ;).

      I’m a bit with Clare — but then as a bi woman, things are just a bit different to the point where it’s almost hard to understand how only one sex or one gender might be attractive. And where I live, there really isn’t much of a notion that being gay is being anti anything.
      I don’t think it’s choice but in my own perspective it’s not birth either. Things change all the time. In my teens, all I wanted were men at least 20 years older than me, that was the only only thing my sexuality focussed on. Nowadays, I am far more comfortable with women and love my girlfriend so so much — I didn’t choose that, but there was a certain deliberation in it anyway. Because I do think that we have an influence on how and to what we develop… ramblerambleramble.

      Sorry I saw that video a few days ago and have been thinking about it for a while ;).

      • angela says:

        Hi Laila! Thanks for this, for offering your perspective. This is exactly the type of conversation I’d expect (and was hoping for) right here at the GDP blog!

      • Hi, first of all I really like this, you make your point so well! I think that it’s not a choice, but at the same time i think that conscious decisions about other things can determine how a person identifies. for example, if a person decides to get very drunk and ends up making out with someone who wouldnt be their preference but as a result ends up enjoying it, perhaps their “label” changes. So personally i think that it’s more a result of other choices that aren’t directly related but do have impacts on sexuality, or more accurately a person’s perception of their own sexuality.

  3. angela says:

    God, I love you guys.

    I love talking sexuality and fluidity, and I love hearing about different perspectives and journeys. Mine seemed (seems?) so linear in comparison.

    I have to admit: I honestly believe I was born a big, ol’ homo.

Leave a Reply

