Why I Don’t Buy Anti-Aging Lotion (or Older Women Are Sexy)

Adele DeWitt (aka Olivia Williams) from Joss Whedon's Dollhouse

Adele DeWitt (aka Olivia Williams) from Joss Whedon’s Dollhouse

Today, I was buying face cream in CVS.  Angela, in fact, was with me.  We went our separate ways for a few moments, gathering bits and pieces, and when we returned she produced some tubs of face cream for me to choose from — she couldn’t quite remember the type that I buy.  “I don’t get the anti-aging one,” I said.  “Just the moisturizing cream.”  And just as I was taking it from her hands, I suddenly remembered why:

I’m not going to live my life afraid of a few facial lines.  And I hope I’ll never assume that age has anything to do with “sexy.”

Well, last Thursday, as some of you already know, my novel, “Confessions of a Kinky Divorcee,” (from Harper Collins’ Mischief) hit the stores.  It’s the story of Debs, who, in her late thirties, sets off on a journey of sexual self-discovery.  She is not a “young” woman, but she doesn’t let this stop her.  In a way, Confessions is a book about being yourself, in kinky heels, in taxi cabs, and even when you get home to find your tenant tied to the bedposts.  It’s a story of a woman who falls for a younger woman and discovers that age has nothing to do with love.

So!  I’m all in praise of sexy mature women today.  Which brings me to…Adele DeWitt!  If you haven’t seen Joss Whedon’s Dollhouse, please consider doing so.  It’s an amazing exploration of human trafficking…and what could potentially happen if we discover how to control one another’s personalities.  What’s more, it also contains Olivia Williams playing Adele DeWitt.  I’d love to show you a scene, but the Whedon team keep an understandably tight hold of their material.  However, here’s a music vid by rmorrisme that shows Williams playing DeWitt, followed by a interview with Williams (about her role in Dollhouse) on Fox.

Enjoy!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

