Erotic Bones: GDP Interviews Zoe More (Part 2)

Part 1 of Zoe’s seductive interview on erotic horror can be found here.

Our dark, sexy Zoe More

Angela: Do the recent remakings of horror films, like Friday the 13th and A Nightmare of Elm Street, not piss you off? Seriously, do you feel the U.S. is lacking new, creative horror talent, or are we, as a country, suddenly afraid of taking different, darker risks?

Zoe: I am so sick of remakes. And yes, I say this as I’m eagerly anticipating the remake of Carrie (no one can out-creep Piper Laurie, goddamnit). I think it’s really telling that so many folks are reaching for the easy, retelling stories that don’t need to be retold, trying to re-open franchises that can be put to rest, instead of bringing the audience to a new time, place, experience. Because we haven’t run out of ideas, or talent. There are amazing filmmakers like Ti West who are taking dark risks in their work. The House of the Devil is beautiful and dark and risky, and an homage, of sorts, to the great 80s horror flicks. We just need to keep reaching for that which scares the hell out of us at the same time that it turns us on.

Angela: Who’s scarier: GWAR or L7 as Camel Lips in John Waters’ Pecker?

Zoe: Oh, wow. I love them both. I’ve seen them both in concert and while I loved getting drenched in spacecum and blood, L7 reigns for me in terms of badassery (especially in Pecker).

Angela: What was the first book, story or poem you read that mixed horror or darkness with erotic language—you know, the one that made you say, “Oh shit, I want to do this! I have to do this!”

More’s “Hunger” will be available in Dec, 2012

Zoe: Angela Carter. The Bloody Chamber. All the way. She truly changed everything in this collection. She gave rise to the fairy tale retelling movement and the use of darkness as an erotic catalyst. I read it for the first time during my senior year of college and felt all the bones in my body splinter and stab me until I cried bloody tears and started writing. It was like finding the woman who’d birthed my soul.

Angela: Who’s sexier: Jason Patric as Michael in The Lost Boys or Kiefer Sutherland as David in The Lost Boys?

Zoe: Kiefer. Always. He’s so much vampy Billy Idol in this movie. YUM.

Well, that was Zoe being interviewed by Angela.  I’ll add that Angela Carter’s The Bloody Chamber is one of my favorite sexy story collections.  Carter is amazing! -Lana

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

